I’ve Been Thinking About You A Lot Recently

I’ve been thinking about you a lot recently.

Your hair, your smile, your laugh.

I can see your face so clearly in my mind as if you were standing next to me.

I can feel the warmth coming off your body and I want to reach out my hand and touch yours.

Feel our hands clasp like they never have before, to tell you of this yearning I have for your lips to touch mine.

I miss your embarrassed laughs and then your realization you’re with me, and you stop feeling on edge about who you are, because you know I love everything about you.

I miss our hugs.

I miss seeing your face.

I miss the sweetness of your words and how they made the butterflies in my stomach finally understand how to fly.

When I told you I loved you, I meant it with every cell is this decaying body, and I know you meant it when you said it back. But it was just the wrong time, and the wrong place, and the wrong way, and I messed everything up and I wish I kept this stupid mouth shut.

You were the best friend I always wanted, and now you’re the best friend I don’t have anymore.

You taught me how to love myself and all you did was love me.

I miss you so very much.

And wherever you are, I hope you’re happy.

I hope you’ve found someone to love, in the ways you wish you could have loved me.

And I hope I make you proud,

Because you’re still the only person I never want to let down.

~ ‘I’ve Been Thinking About You A Lot Recently’

Leave a Reply

